West Australian Mountain Bike Association (WAMBA) is the state representative body for the West Australian mountain bike community.

A volunteer organisation, WAMBA works collaboratively with key stakeholders to identify, develop and sustain mountain bike experiences in Western Australia.

And also acts as a resource for clubs looking for help on trail advocacy and grants, and co-ordinates the racing calendar.

Event Calendar

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

The draft standard for Mountain Biking & Cycle Touring for the Australian Adventure Activity Standards (Australian AAS) has just been released for public comment. All members of the outdoors community can have their say about this activity standard by visiting yoursay.australianaas.org.au/mt-bike-cycle-touring/

Adventure Activity Standards (AAS) are industry best practice guidelines used to manage risk and safety across a wide range of outdoor adventure activities. They are designed to be used by skilled outdoor leaders who are responsible for participants in these activities.
The draft standard is available to download or readable online via the website. Feedback submissions can be lodged via the websites submission forms. These include general impressions, as well the opportunity to provide detailed and specific feedback on any piece of content or section.
Feedback submissions will close on the 9.00am (AEDT) 9th October 2017.
Have your say by:

Find out more about the Australian AAS, go to www.australianaas.org.au

As many of you will be aware, the 2016 Yarloop Bushfire caused extensive damage to the South Shore facility in the Lane Poole reserve and as a result of the near total loss of the many structures that made up South Shore, a sum or money has been agreed between the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions (DBCA / formerly the Department of Parks and Wildlife) and their insurance assessors.   

WAMBA were approached by DBCA to comment on their plan to take the South Shore insurance proceeds and use them to decommission the South Shore facility and use any remaining funds to support the development of Trails 1 & 2 (black and blue DH trails) in the Murray Valley Precinct. This is in support of the Murray Valley Concept Plan (MVCP), a project that has been running for approximately 4-years and is focused on the development of a trail facility in the Murray Valley region.

Read more ...

A massive congratulations to WA's Sam Hill, Reece Tucknott and Sarah Tucknott!!!

They have been selected for the 2017 UCI MTB Australia Team to contest the World Championships in Cairns QLD on 5th - 10th September!

This is a fantastic achievement - they are the only WA riders selected as part of the 64 strong team who will compete against the world's best.

Sam Hill is a five time world Down Hill champion and is currently leading the World Enduro Series. Sam finished a close second in Canada on the weekend extending his points lead heading into the last round in Finale’ Italy.

This will be Reece’s fourth world championship going into it ranked as the second Australian U23. Reece still has one more year in the U23 category and is coming off a strong European season where he was consistently the best placed Australian U23.

It will be Sarah’s first world championships as an U19 (Junior). Sarah just returned from a training camp in Cairns with all the other juniors. She has returned to WA very excited as she was super competitive with the other Aussie girls on the camp.

Well, it's the end of another full and exciting State Series for both Cross Country (XCO) and Downhill (DHI).

Congratulations to all the podium winners for 2017!!

And a massive thank you to the clubs and volunteers who have worked hard to organise races that have allowed riders to be competitive and enjoy themselves - Perth MTB Club (PMBC), Dunsborough Cycling Club, Margaret River Off Road Cycling Association (MRORCA)Collie MTB Club and Peel District MTB Club (PDMBC)!!

1st - Sarah Tucknott
2nd - Carmen De Rooze
3rd - Tracey Chapman

1 - Nav Coole
2 - Robbie Rhodes
3 - Jon Gregg

1st - Roly Kyme
2nd - Benjamin Halsall
3rd - Samuel Buchanan

1 - Natalie Pearson
2 - Vilma Fitzgerald
3 - Janelle Sellers

Read more ...

Looking for a challenge and have a passion for mountain biking?

Do you have an interest in and skills/ experience relevant to?

  • Communication/ Social Media

  • Club Engagement

  • High Performance

  • Participation - female, youth, general

  • Trails Development

  • Racing

Be part of the team who is helping to guide the strategic direction of WA mountain biking  


The 2017 WAMBA Annual General Meeting will be held @ 3pm this Sunday (16th July) at the Calamunnda Camel Farm, 361 Paulls Valley Road, Kalamunda. The meeting will be held in the room underneath the Camel Farm Café.

All are welcome to attend. Have a blast around the awesome Kalamunda Trails and join us afterwards.

If you wish to attend the meeting via Skype, please notify the Secretary (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) by 12pm Sunday. It will NOT be a video call – sound only.


The agenda will be:

  1. Welcome
  2. Attendance & apologies
  3. Minutes of previous AGM
  4. President’s report
  5. Treasurer’s report
  6. Special motion – vote on new WAMBA consitution
  7. Election of positions
  8. General business
  9. Close of meeting

Last year’s AGM minutes are available here - http://www.wamba.org.au/docs/WAMBA_AGM_Minutes_2016.pdf


The following apologies have been received:

  • Bryan Stevenson
  • Vilma Fitzgerald

Nominations for 2017/ 2018 WAMBA Committee

As per WAMBA’s Constitution, all current committee members cease to be committee members at the AGM and are eligible for re-election.

A massive thank you to the exiting Committee members for all their hard work and contribution towards the current state of WA mountain biking! In particular, Cathy Young and Bret Watson who were sadly unable to continue their volunteering efforts on the general committee.

The following nominations have been received for official volunteer positions:

  • President – Alex Wade
  • Vice President – Jodie Stembridge
  • Secretary – Vilma Fitzgerald
  • Treasurer – Bryan Stevenson

General Committee nominations received so far:

  • Margaret McIlroy
  • Ben Pruden
Read more ...

Page 1 of 25

Go to top