2015 WAMBA Junior State Team

Following the WAMBA Junior State Team's success (read all about it in Yuliang Seow's Race Report in our latest Newsletter) at the National XCO & DHI Championships in Bright this year, we are already planning for 2016.

Thanks to the efforts of some extremely dedicated and organised parents, the state team was pulled together very quickly in time for the nationals this year. So we want to have a more relaxed and organised approach next year.

If you are a parent of a junior and would be interested in being part of the organisation of the team, our new Junior Development Coordinator, Graeme 'Grizzly' Adams would like to hear from you!

WAMBA would like to congratulate the following Junior riders on their selection to the 2015/ 2016 WAIS Developing Champions Program:

Ben Moore 
Jordan Schmidt
Cadel Adams 
Mian Grimbeek
Declan O'Connor 
Nerys Eddy
Jack O'Connor 
Riley Westra
Jacob Wright 
Roly Kyme
Jake DeKlerk 
Sophie Johnson
Jaxon Sawyer 
Yuliang Seow   

It is with pleasure that the Department Of Sport And Recreation (DSR), WA Institute of Sport (WAIS), WestCycle and WAMBA invite them to attend DEVELOPING CHAMPIONS program workshops in 2015 and 2016. Developing Champions is a life skills program aimed at assisting aspiring youth athletes to gain personal development skills and progress along their high performance pathway.                                                             

Photo - Rider: Nerys Eddy | Photographer: Kathy Curruthers


Photo - Rider: Bryce Lanigan | Photographer: Kelly Doye

WAMBA, Department of Sport and Recreation (DSR) and West Australian Institute of Sport (WAIS) invite WAMBA XC and DH members Under 17 and Under 15 to nominate for the WAIS Developing Champions Program, a life skills program aimed at assisting aspiring youth athletes to gain personal development skills and progress along their high performance pathway. 

**WAMBA have 4 metropolitan and 9 regional positions available**

The course has the opportunity for face-to-face or online learning for Regional athletes. The face-to-face workshops will be conducted with BMX, Road and Track riders. 

2015 face-to-face sessions: 

  • First Event: Saturday 13 June 2015. Time: 11AM- 2.30PM. Venue: DSR Conference Room, Leederville, Perth
  • Second event: Saturday 7 November 2015

2016 events to be held approximately the same time of year.

Selection Criteria:

Selection will be based on potential, attitude and ability.

This is selection to the 2015/2016 WAIS Developing Champions program (not the WAIS Scholarship or WAMBA state teams). 

Selection Panel:

Selection will be conducted by the WAMBA Selection Panel of:

  • Paul de Klerk - appointed position (DH)
  • Graeme Adams - appointed position (XC)
  • Louise Wallace – WAMBA
  • Tony Tucknott – MTBA State Representative
  • Toby Hodgson – Westcycle

To nominate for one of the 13 positions, please reply your interest to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. before 5pm Monday 11th May 2015.

The WAMBA Selection Panel will review the nominations and provide a list of 4 metropolitan and 9 regional athletes to the WAMBA Committee for approval by 18th May.

Notification of Selection:

All successful applicants will be notified by Westcycle via email.


An Athlete Information Page has been produced for athletes to download and print off.

An overview of the WAIS program can be found on their website - www.developingchampions.com.au

If you have further questions, please contact Toby Hodgson on 08 6336 9680.

What an action packed day!

Before the thrills and spills of slopestyle yesterday, WAMBA redefined its role and elected a new committee for 2015/ 2016 during its annual general meeting.

In line with a new strategic direction, WAMBA is now recognised as the state representative body for the West Australian mountain biking community. This change of role, from simply being a trail advocacy group to the state representative body, will provide a more strategic direction for the Association and allow it to remain relevant to members, stakeholders and the WA mountain biking community.

Passion, hard work (lots of it!) and commitment to this new strategic role has led to the re-election of Louise Wallace as WAMBA President. Also re-elected were Marilena Stimpfl (Vice President), Jodie Stembridge (Secretary), and Alex Wade and Margaret McIlroy (general committee).

New faces on the committee include Mike Young (Government Engagement Coordinator), Ben Pruden (Chairperson - Management Council for Trails Access), Tony Tucknott (Chairperson – Management Council for Racing, Graeme Adams (Junior Development Coordinator), and Amy Chapple (general committee).

Welcome to everyone – it’s going to be an exciting year ahead!

The 2015 WAMBA Annual General Meeting will be held @ 11:30am this Sunday (26th April) at Edward Millen House, Edward Millen Reserve in Victoria Park, Perth. All are welcome to attend.

Edward Millen House


The agenda will be:

  1. Welcome
  2. Attendance & Apologies
  3. Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting
  4. President’s Report
  5. Treasurer’s Report – Presentation of Annual Report & Audited Financial Statements
  6. Notices of Motion
  7. Election of Positions
  8. General Business
  9. Close of Meeting

 Last year’s AGM minutes are available here - http://www.wamba.org.au/docs/WAMBA_AGM_minutes_2014.pdf


The following apologies have been received:

  • John Wallace
  • Bec Swan
  • Jake Hannah
  • Tony Tucknott
  • Sam Russell

Please email any further apologies to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Notices of Motion:

The following Notices of Motion are being voted on at the meeting. That:

  1. West Australian Mountain Bike Association (WAMBA) is recognised as the state representative body for the WA mountain bike community.
  2. An interim Committee is formed at the AGM and remains in place until such time as the Constitution of WAMBA is changed to reflect a new governance model and a new WAMBA Board of Governance is established.


The following nominations have been received for positions on the WAMBA interim committee:

  • President – Louise Wallace
  • Vice President – Marilena Stimpfl
  • Secretary – Jodie Stembridge
  • Treasurer – no nominations as yet
  • Club Engagement Coordinator – no nominations as yet
  • Government Engagement Coordinator – Mike Young
  • Management Council for Sport Development Chairperson – no nominations as yet
    • Junior Development Coordinator – Graeme Adams
  • Management Council for Trails Access Chairperson – Ben Pruden
  • Management Council for Racing Chairperson – Tony Tucknott

General committee nominations received so far:

  • Amy Chapple

Thank you to all those who have already put their names forward for consideration. If you’re attending the AGM on Sunday, you can still nominate for a position.

Proxy Voting:

Proxy forms are only required for committee and affiliated club members who are unable to attend the AGM and wish to vote. At this stage it looks like no voting will be required, as there is only one nomination for each position.

However, people can still nominate for positions during the meeting, so the proxy vote may still be a consideration - the person being nominated at the meeting isn’t entitled to receive any proxy votes.

If you wish to submit a proxy vote, please email Jodie at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for a form.

After AGM:

Lots happening at Edward Millen Reserve on Sunday 26th!

Join us afterwards for lunch at the TGIF Victoria Park Hawkers Market, and then watch all the excitement of the John Hughes Slopestyle event. Head to the John Hughes Slopestyle Facebook page for more information.

Page 10 of 25

Go to top